Belle

Disney’s Beauty and the Beast came out when I was 18 or 19.  Delightful!
My sister and I played Disney music over and over again.

And then it came out again when I was in my mid-40’s.

A feast for the eyes.

And you know how music is…I’m still a young girl when I hear the music.
Especially since I danced to Tale as Old as Time when I was 20 for a Valentine Community Dessert Showcase. (6:43 on video clip)

SO…. a week ago a friend of my 14 year old daughter was over and they were talking theater and musicals.  And I had a sudden reality check when this young girl looked at me and said so sweetly,

‘You would be a perfect Mrs. Potts!  Yes, you are kind and motherly’

I smiled but I was so confused.
Mrs. Potts!?  She’s old!

Oh, duh, to these young girls I am old.  Or at least a mature adult.
Gracious!

I talked about this incident to my dearest friend CC.  We both laughed.
I may look like a motherly mature adult…

&

I’m still Belle inside.
I’m still a romantic.
I’m still young inside.

Grace to we who are still young people under this mature exterior.

Leave a Reply

